One of those moments when you think, “I’ve done something right.”

I know it has been a while since my last post, but life has a way of demanding your attention. Here is a small story from this past Christmas.

Jake had received some money for Christmas. He asked me what he should do with it. I gave him some options to consider. 1. Put half into your savings and then with the other half you could buy yourself something that you want or you could get something for somebody else. 2. Spend it all

Jake thought about it and decided to save half of it. But wasn’t sure about what to do with the other half. He said, “I’ll have to think about it.”

Later in the day he came to me and asked, “Dad, do we own our house?” I then took the time to explain to him about a mortgage and how buying a house works. He got a thoughtful look on his face and said, “Dad, I want to take half of my money and help pay the house payment, then I want to take the other half and buy presents for mom and Cal (his older brother).”

I just had to chuckle and inside had a warm feeling spread. I told him, “Buddy, that’s very nice, but I think we are good on the house payment. Thank you though. How about you take the half that you aren’t putting into your savings and use it to buy presents for mom, Cal and yourself. I think that would be a good way to spend it.”

He got a big smile on his face and decided to just do that. I think the smile on my face was even bigger.

This entry was posted in Inspirations, Life Lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

